Knowledge Base

PRB: Filter on Saved Profiler Trace Replaces Previous File

Article ID: 198064

Article Last Modified on 3/28/2000


APPLIES TO


This article was previously published under Q198064

SYMPTOMS

When saved with new filters applied, the SQL Server Profiler replaces the original trace file from a previously saved trace file. The filtered data is deleted from the file before the save and cannot be recovered.

CAUSE

This is by design. This intended behavior allows a large trace file to be filtered to just the required information.

WORKAROUND

If the original trace is still required, it is a good practice to make a copy of the original trace file before filtering.

Additional query words: Prof

Keywords: kbprb KB198064