Knowledge Base

OL2000: Must Close All Outlook Windows to Log On as Different User

Article ID: 196995

Article Last Modified on 9/29/2003


APPLIES TO


This article was previously published under Q196995

SYMPTOMS

While Microsoft Outlook 2000 is running, if you try to shut down Microsoft Windows with one of the following Start menu options:

   Close all programs and log on as a different user (Windows 95 or NT)
				


-or-



   Log Off <username>... (Windows 98)
				


Outlook displays the following message:

   Please close all Outlook windows before shutting down the system.
				


The easiest way to do this is to click Exit and Log Off from the Outlook File menu.

CAUSE

Windows cannot correctly close Outlook when you try to log off and log on as a different user.

RESOLUTION

To prevent this message, close all Outlook windows before attempting to close all programs and log on as a different user.

Keywords: kbprb KB196995