SBS Setup Computer Wizard Overwrites User Logon Script
Article ID: 196966
Article Last Modified on 11/19/2003
APPLIES TO
- Microsoft BackOffice Small Business Server 4.0
- Microsoft BackOffice Small Business Server 4.0a
- Microsoft BackOffice Small Business Server 4.5
This article was previously published under Q196966
SYMPTOMS
When a user is selected while setting up a computer in the Setup Computer
Wizard of the Manage Server Console, any custom logon script information
for that user is lost.
CAUSE
During the administration of a computer in the Setup Computer Wizard, a
user must be selected to associate with this computer so that Small
Business Server (SBS) software can be pushed to that computer when the user
logs on. As a part of this process, any logon script associated with that
user is overwritten with a default template logon script. Any custom
changes in the logon script are lost.
RESOLUTION
One possible workaround to help with this problem would be to copy the
custom logon scripts to a safe location and then replace the default system
logon script after you set up the computer.
STATUS
Microsoft has confirmed this to be a problem in the Microsoft products
listed at the beginning of this article.
Additional query words: smallbiz
Keywords: kbbug kbpending KB196966