Knowledge Base

XADM: Changes Made During Move Server Process are Not Saved

Article ID: 196402

Article Last Modified on 10/28/2006


APPLIES TO


This article was previously published under Q196402

SYMPTOMS

When moving a mailbox using the Microsoft Exchange Move Server Wizard, if the Windows NT permissions associated with the mailbox are modified during the move, the modified Windows NT permissions are not added back to the mailbox. This occurs even if the user has the same Windows NT Security ID.

CAUSE

The Move Server Wizard takes a snapshot of the directory prior to moving a server. After the server is moved, the snapshot is imported into the new directory. Therefore, any changes that occur during the move will not be saved.

WORKAROUND

The documentation is clear in stating that NO changes should be made during the migration process. If changes are made, they are at risk of being lost.

Keywords: kbbug kbnofix KB196402