Knowledge Base

System Preparation Tool Directory Not Deleted Upon Cloning

Article ID: 196018

Article Last Modified on 10/31/2006


APPLIES TO


This article was previously published under Q196018

SYMPTOMS

When you run the Microsoft System Preparation tool, Sysprep, the duplicated systems still have the Sysprep tools (Sysprep.exe and Setupcl.exe) on the local drive. Documentation states that these files will be removed from the directory in which Sysprep resides upon completion of the cloning process.

CAUSE

This problem will happen when the folder in which the Sysprep files were located was named something other than Sysprep or was not located on the same volume in which the %WINDIR% resides (for example, Winnt, Winnt40, and so on).

RESOLUTION

Move Sysprep and its associated files to the volume that contains the %WINDIR% and ensure that the folder in which Sysprep resides is named Sysprep. However, by design, the Setupcl.exe file is placed in the %SystemRoot%\System32 folder and will remain after the cloning process has completed.

MORE INFORMATION

For additional information about System Preparation tools and other deployment information, please see:


Additional query words: sysprep directory remove deploy ghost

Keywords: kbprb KB196018