Knowledge Base

Windows Remembers the Previous Shutdown Option

Article ID: 193624

Article Last Modified on 1/23/2007


APPLIES TO


This article was previously published under Q193624

SYMPTOMS

When you click Start and then click Shut Down, Windows remembers which option you selected the last time you shut your computer down.

CAUSE

This behavior occurs because Windows writes this information to the following registry key every time your computer is shut down:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\ Explorer\Shutdown Setting

RESOLUTION

To work around this behavior, create a shortcut to shut down your computer. To do so, use the following steps:

NOTE: Use this information at your own risk. This article contains information about configuring or using Windows in a manner that has not been tested and is not supported by Microsoft.

  1. Right-click the desktop, click New, and then click Shortcut.
  2. In the Command Line box, type

    <Windows folder>\Rundll32.exe User.exe,ExitWindows

    where <Windows folder> is your Windows folder, and then click Next.
  3. In the "Select a name for the shortcut" box, type "Shut Down Windows" (without quotation marks), and then click Finish.

Additional query words: 2.00 2.10 2.50 95 98

Keywords: kbui kbprb KB193624