Article ID: 193042
Article Last Modified on 7/17/1999
APPLIES TO
- Microsoft Site Server 3.0 Standard Edition
This article was previously published under Q193042
SYMPTOMS
When a Site Server Task Scheduler (SSTS) job is modified by the Windows NT
Task Scheduler (WTS) (permissions, schedule, and so on), the following
error message occurs when the SSTS is opened:
Couldn[ASCII 146]t un-schedule existing task
When the SSTS is closed, the modified job (with the SSTS properties) is
added to the schedule and can be viewed by the WTS.
CAUSE
The WTS is a newer scheduling process and contains more attributes than
the SSTS or the WinAT Scheduler (WAS). Any time the WTS modifies the SSTS
or WAS jobs, it also takes ownership. Therefore, these jobs are no longer
viewable by the SSTS or WAS, and can no longer be modified or deleted by
these processes. This becomes a problem only when the SSTS is opened. When
the SSTS is opened, any active job in its queue is unscheduled. Because
active jobs modified by the WTS are no longer viewable by the SSTS, they
cannot be unscheduled, which results in the above error message. When the
SSTS is closed, it reschedules all of the active jobs in its queue.
Therefore, any SSTS job modified by the WTS will contain a duplicate job
(not a ghost image) with the SSTS properties, and both will run as
scheduled. If the WTS or WAS has deleted an SSTS job, then the job will be
rescheduled when the SSTS is opened and then closed.
WORKAROUND
Depending on your situation, use one of the following workarounds to
resolve this problem:
Workaround #1
If you are using the SSTS to modify jobs that have already been modified
by the WTS, delete the jobs from the WTS before starting the SSTS. Open
the SSTS and close the error message boxes (there will be one for every
modified task), make your changes, and then close the SSTS. (Remember that
any changes made by the WTS are now null and void.) However, when
possible, use the WTS to modify these jobs.
Workaround #2
If you start the SSTS for reasons not involving the WTS modified jobs,
close the error message boxes and continue on. However, before you close
the SSTS window, locate the jobs that have been modified by the WTS, and
then either deactivate the jobs (edit and uncheck the Active checkbox) or
delete the task altogether from the SSTS queue.
Workaround #3
If you start the SSTS for the same reason listed in Workaround #2, instead
of editing or deleting the modified jobs, simply close the SSTS, start up
the WTS, and then delete the duplicate jobs listed in the WTS.
Workaround #4
If you need to delete the SSTS jobs that have not been modified by the
WTS, then use the SSTS to delete or deactivate these jobs. However, if you
cannot do this and choose to delete them using the WTS or the WAS, then
the next time you start the SSTS, deactivate the deleted jobs or wait
until after you close the SSTS, and then delete the duplicate job using
the WTS or the WAS.
STATUS
Microsoft has confirmed this to be a problem in Site Server version 3.0.
Keywords: kbprb KB193042