Knowledge Base

PRB: Second User Overwrites Changes Made by First User

Article ID: 191047

Article Last Modified on 3/7/2005


APPLIES TO


This article was previously published under Q191047

SYMPTOMS

After saving and reopening procedural objects, such as procedures, functions, and triggers, previous edits are lost. This can occur if a different user opened the object during your editing session.

CAUSE

This is by design. Visual InterDev 6.0 does not check for exogenous changes made to the object before you save it.

RESOLUTION

To work around this problem, do one of the following:
  • Click Save As to save the object source text before closing.
  • Use database projects and edit-compile with SQL scripts.

STATUS

This behavior is by design.

MORE INFORMATION

Steps to Reproduce Behavior

  1. In separate instances of Visual InterDev, insert identical data connections.
  2. Instance1: Open a stored procedure.
  3. Instance2: Open the same stored procedure in a second instance of Visual InterDev.
  4. Instance2: Edit and Save the stored procedure in the second instance of Visual InterDev.
  5. Instance1: Save the stored procedure in the first instance of Visual InterDev.
RESULT: No error or warning appears, and the second instance's edits are missing.

Keywords: kbprb kbctrl kbideproject KB191047