PRB: Default for Removing Orphaned Files May Cause Data Loss
Article ID: 190763
Article Last Modified on 3/7/2005
APPLIES TO
- Microsoft Visual InterDev 6.0 Standard Edition
This article was previously published under Q190763
SYMPTOMS
The default response to remove the local copy of a file deleted from the
user's master Web project is "Yes." This introduces a scenario where the
user may inadvertently delete the file from the local project permanently.
CAUSE
This is a design feature implemented to simplify synchronization of the
master Web project and the local Web project.
RESOLUTION
Several methods of restoring lost data are available to the user in this
scenario:
- If the project is under Source Code Control (SCC), that is, Visual
SourceSafe, the user's local file may be replaced with the file in the
SCC database.
- If the file resides on another user's client computer, the file may be
copied from there. NOTE: If the user of the second computer refreshes
their local project, the user is also prompted to delete the local copy of the file. At this point, the user
should respond "No" to the dialog box, and add the file to the master
Web by right-clicking the file in the Project Explorer and selecting the
"Add to master Web" command. This should reset the project to its
original state.
- The file may be restored from a recent backup or archive of the project.
STATUS
This behavior is by design
Keywords: kbprb KB190763