Article ID: 190732
Article Last Modified on 8/21/2007
APPLIES TO
- Microsoft Word 95 Standard Edition
- Microsoft Word 95a
This article was previously published under Q190732
SYMPTOMS
If you open a Word for Windows document in a text editor such as Windows
Notepad, the file may contain text that was previously deleted.
CAUSE
This behavior is by design in Microsoft Word when you save a document with
the Allow Fast Saves option selected. Word records only the changes to the
document and appends them to the end of the file. This means that your
document still contains the deleted text, even though it does not appear on
the screen. Word removes deleted text from your document only when you
perform a full save. (To display the Allow Fast Saves option, click Options
on the Tools menu and click the Save tab.)
WORKAROUND
Use either of the following methods if you do not want a document to
contain any deleted text.
Method 1: Disable Allow Fast Save
To prevent a document from ever containing deleted text that someone could
view with a text editor, disable the Allow Fast Saves option and perform a
full save. To do this, follow these steps:
- On the Tools menu, click Options, and click the Save tab.
- Click to clear the Allow Fast Saves check box.
- Save your document.
When you do this, Word incorporates all the changes and permanently removes
the deleted text.
Method 2: Copy and Paste into a New Document
This method allows you to continue to use the Fast Save feature. To use
this method, follow these steps:
- When all final revisions are completed, select the entire document and
click Copy on the Edit menu.
- Start a new document and click Paste on the Edit menu to copy the
original document into a new document.
The new document will be free of previous editing changes (deleted text).
MORE INFORMATION
Word always performs a full save when the Allow Fast Saves option is turned
off. In addition, even with the Allow Fast Saves option turned on, Word
periodically performs a full save of your document.
The Allow Fast Saves option provides greater operating speed while working
in Word. It requires less time to append changes (fast save) than to
incorporate them into your document (full save).
Additional query words: fastsave safety confidential
Keywords: kbprb KB190732