Knowledge Base

FP98: Changed Border Retained After Closing, Not Saving Page

Article ID: 189381

Article Last Modified on 12/1/2000


APPLIES TO


This article was previously published under Q189381

SYMPTOMS

When you close a page in FrontPage Editor and don't save the page, changes that you made to a shared border are still present when you open the file.

CAUSE

This behavior occurs because FrontPage caches changes to the shared border files in memory. This cache is not cleared even when you close all pages in FrontPage Editor. FrontPage caches these changes to improve the performance of FrontPage.

RESOLUTION

To work around this problem you can reload the shared border from the hard disk rather than the shared border file cached in memory. To do this, follow these steps:
  1. Make the shared border that you changed the active border by clicking in it.
  2. On the View menu, click Refresh.
  3. If you receive a message asking you if you want to save changes to the shared border, click No.

STATUS

Microsoft has confirmed this to be a problem in the Microsoft products listed at the beginning of this article.

MORE INFORMATION


Additional query words: border borders shared close

Keywords: kbbug kbpending KB189381