Shared Folders Deleted in MS-DOS Window Appear in Net Watcher
Article ID: 188194
Article Last Modified on 1/23/2007
APPLIES TO
- Microsoft Windows 98 Standard Edition
This article was previously published under Q188194
SYMPTOMS
When you use an MS-DOS window to delete a locally shared folder, the folder
may still appear in the Net Watcher tool as a shared folder. The shared
folder may also appear to be available to other computers on the network.
If you try to open the shared folder from another computer, you may receive
the following error message:
<Computername>
\\<Computername>\<Sharename> is not accessible.
Access is denied.
RESOLUTION
To resolve this issue, follow these steps:
- Click Start, point to Programs, point to Accessories, point to System
Tools, and then click Net Watcher.
- Click the shared folder that you deleted in an MS-DOS window, and then
click Stop Sharing Folder on the Administer menu.
MORE INFORMATION
You can use Net Watcher to maintain an overview of local files and shares
that are being used by other users on the network, and to share and stop
sharing local and remote folders.
Additional query words: 98
Keywords: kbnetwork kbprb KB188194