Knowledge Base

Auto-Reconnect Setting Not Saved During Upgrade to Windows 95/98

Article ID: 188155

Article Last Modified on 1/23/2007


APPLIES TO


This article was previously published under Q188155

SYMPTOMS

When you upgrade from Microsoft Windows for Workgroups version 3.x to Windows 95 or Windows 98, the auto-reconnect setting for network drives is not maintained. Instead, the Quick Logon option for network drives is selected in Windows 95/98.

RESOLUTION

To resolve this issue, change the reconnect setting in Windows 95/98 after the upgrade process is finished. To do so, follow these steps:
  1. Click Start, point to Settings, click Control Panel, and then double- click Network.
  2. Click Client For Microsoft Networks, and then click Properties.
  3. Click "Login and restore network connections."
  4. Click OK, and then click OK.

Keywords: kbenv kbnetwork kbprb kbsetup KB188155