Cannot Delete the Testdir.tmp File on a Shared NTFS Volume
Article ID: 187730
Article Last Modified on 10/31/2006
APPLIES TO
- Microsoft Windows NT Workstation 4.0 Developer Edition
- Microsoft Windows NT Server 4.0 Standard Edition
- Microsoft Windows NT Server 4.0 Enterprise Edition
This article was previously published under Q187730
SYMPTOMS
When you copy a file or folder to a shared NT File System (NTFS) volume, a
Testdir.tmp file may be created that you do not have permission to delete.
CAUSE
This behavior can occur if your user account or the group in which you are
a member does not have Delete permissions for the shared NTFS volume.
RESOLUTION
To resolve this behavior, add Delete permissions for the shared NTFS
volume to your user account or to the group in which you are a member. To
do so, follow these steps:
NOTE: You must be logged on to the computer as an administrator.
- In My Computer or Windows NT Explorer, right-click the NTFS volume, and
then click Properties.
- On the Security tab, click Permissions.
- Click the user account or group you want.
- In the Type Of Access box, click Special File Access.
- Click the Delete check box to select it, and then click OK.
- Click OK, and then click OK again.
MORE INFORMATION
When you copy a file or folder to a shared NTFS volume with Full or
special Delete permissions, the Testdir.tmp file is usually deleted after
the file or folder is copied. If your user account or group does not have
Delete permissions for the NTFS volume, Windows NT is unable to delete the
file or folder after it is copied.
Keywords: kbenv kbprb KB187730