Knowledge Base

WinCE: Error Deleting File When You Cancel File Conversion

Article ID: 187594

Article Last Modified on 11/28/2003


APPLIES TO


This article was previously published under Q187594

SYMPTOMS

If you convert a file from a desktop computer to a Handheld PC (H/PC) or Palm-size PC (P/PC) and then cancel the file conversion process before it is finished, you may be unable to delete the file.

You may also receive the following error message:
Error Deleting File:

Make sure the disk is not full or write protected and that the file is not currently in use.

CAUSE

This behavior can occur if the file was still in use when you canceled the file conversion process.

RESOLUTION

To resolve this issue, restart the desktop computer. To do this, follow these steps:
  1. On the desktop computer, click Start, and then click Shut Down.
  2. Click Restart, and then click OK.

STATUS

Microsoft has confirmed this to be a problem in the Microsoft products listed in the applies to section of this article.

MORE INFORMATION

This behavior can also occur if you copy a file from a desktop computer to an H/PC or P/PC and then cancel the file copy operation before it is finished.

Additional query words: hand held ppc synch

Keywords: kberrmsg kbprb KB187594