Synchronizing E-mail with Shortcut Deletes Original Desktop File
Article ID: 187371
Article Last Modified on 8/5/2004
APPLIES TO
- Microsoft Windows CE 2.0 for the Handheld PC
- Microsoft Windows CE 2.1 for the Handheld PC
- Microsoft Windows CE 2.11 for the Handheld PC
- Microsoft Windows CE 2.12 for the Handheld PC
- Microsoft Windows CE 3.01 for the Handheld PC
- Microsoft Windows CE 3.0 for the Handheld PC
- Microsoft Windows CE 3.0 for the Handheld PC Professional Edition
- Microsoft Windows CE 2.0 for the Handheld PC
- Microsoft Windows CE 2.1 for the Handheld PC
- Microsoft Windows CE 2.11 for the Handheld PC
- Microsoft Windows CE 2.12 for the Handheld PC
- Microsoft Windows CE 3.01 for the Handheld PC
- Microsoft Windows CE 3.01 Professional Edition
- Microsoft Windows CE Services 2.1
This article was previously published under Q187371
SYMPTOMS
When you synchronize an e-mail message containing an
attached file between a Handheld PC (H/PC) or Palm-size PC (P/PC) and a desktop
computer, you may delete the original of the file that was attached to the
e-mail message.
CAUSE
This behavior can occur if the e-mail file attachment is a
shortcut to a file on the desktop computer and you do not have the latest
version of the Outstore.dll file on the desktop computer.
RESOLUTION
To resolve this problem, download and install the
Outstore.exe update file.
STATUS
Microsoft has confirmed this to be a problem in the
Microsoft products listed in the applies to section of this article.
Additional query words: 2.00 hand held ppc inbox outlook email
Keywords: kbdownload kbgraphxlinkcritical kbprb KB187371