Knowledge Base

Using NWConv to Migrate Users That Already Exist in Windows NT

Article ID: 186874

Article Last Modified on 10/31/2006


APPLIES TO


This article was previously published under Q186874

SYMPTOMS

When you use the Migration Tool for NetWare (NWConv.exe) to migrate users that already exists in the Windows NT account database from Novell NetWare to Windows NT, changes to group memberships are merged during the migration instead of being replaced. This occurs even though the Overwrite with New Info option is selected.

CAUSE

The "Overwrite with New Info" option does not properly overwrite existing group memberships.

STATUS

Microsoft has confirmed this to be a problem in Windows NT version 4.0.

MORE INFORMATION

The "Overwrite with New Info" option properly overwrites other user- specific properties that are migrated, including logon hours and security on files and directories. However, if no user-specific rights exist on a file or directory on the NetWare server, after migration the Windows NT rights for that file or directory are preserved. Security settings on files or directories are only overwritten when the file or directory exists on both servers for the specified user.

Additional query words: NWCONV Migrate convert

Keywords: kbbug kbfaq KB186874