Article ID: 186360
Article Last Modified on 10/30/2001
APPLIES TO
- Microsoft Visual SourceSafe 5.0 Standard Edition
- Microsoft Visual SourceSafe 6.0 Standard Edition
This article was previously published under Q186360
SYMPTOMS
When you are in the Visual SourceSafe Explorer and you have set the "Use
visual merge" option to Yes, the Visual Merge window does not appear when
you expect it to (that is, when merging a branched file, or merging a file
that has been simultaneously checked out by two users).
CAUSE
Visual SourceSafe uses three files when performing a merge: a baseline file
and two current files. In the case of a branched file, the baseline is the
version of the file that was branched, and the current files are the latest
versions of the branches. In the case of multiple checkouts, the baseline
is the version of the file that was checked out, and the current files are
the users' copies.
The Visual Merge window appears only if both current files have been
edited. If only one has been edited and the other is identical to the
baseline, the visual merge window does not appear.
STATUS
This behavior is by design. When performing a merge, Visual SourceSafe
attempts to reconcile changes that were made to the current files. To do
this, it makes two comparisons (it compares the baseline file to both
current files). The Visual Merge window will only appear if each of the
current files is different from the baseline.
REFERENCES
For additional information, please see the following article in the
Microsoft Knowledge Base:
159270 How Visual SourceSafe's Merge Process Works
(c) Microsoft Corporation 1998, All Rights Reserved. Contributions by David
de Groot, Microsoft Corporation
Additional query words: kbSSExplorer kbDSupport kbdse kbSSafe500
Keywords: kbprb KB186360