Knowledge Base

BUG: UNDO CHECKOUT After Merge Does Not Remove Merge File

Article ID: 186321

Article Last Modified on 10/15/2002


APPLIES TO


This article was previously published under Q186321

SYMPTOMS

Using the Undo Checkout command after doing a merge does not remove the merge file FileName.org from the user's local working directory.

STATUS

Microsoft has confirmed that this is a bug in the Microsoft products that are listed at the beginning of this article.

MORE INFORMATION

Steps to Reproduce Behavior

  1. Start the Visual SourceSafe (VSS) Explorer.
  2. View the History dialog of a file with more than one version.
  3. Select a previous version and click Check Out to check the file out to the local working directory.
  4. Make changes to the file.
  5. In the VSS Explorer select the file again, press SHIFT and then click the Get latest version icon. In the Get <filename> dialog box, click Advance. In the Replace Writable drop-down list box select Merge.
  6. Complete the merge and save the file. This creates a file named FileName.org.
  7. Execute an Undo Checkout for the file. Be sure to select Delete in the Local Copy drop-down list box in the Undo Checkout window.
RESULT: The Undo Checkout process should remove both the local copy of the file and the FileName.org created in step 6 from the users local working directory.

However, after the Undo Checkout completes, the .org file remains in the local working directory.

Keywords: kbbug kbpending KB186321