Knowledge Base

WD98: Wizard Assistant Remains After New Wizard Is Selected

Article ID: 185896

Article Last Modified on 10/31/2006


APPLIES TO


This article was previously published under Q185896

SYMPTOMS

The Assistant from a previous wizard, such as the Resume, Memo, or Agenda Wizard, remains on your screen when you open a new document based on another wizard. For example, if you click Finish in the Memo Wizard, the Assistant displays the message, "Do more with the memo?" If you do not click Cancel to cancel this dialog box, then when you open a new document based on another wizard, the Assistant remains on your screen displaying the "Memo" help information.

CAUSE

This problem occurs if all of the following are true:

  • You based a new document on one of the Wizards and clicked Finish.

    -and-
  • You did not cancel the Assistant balloon help.

    -and -
  • You opened a new document based on another Wizard.

RESOLUTION

After completing the first Wizard, click Cancel in the Assistant balloon help.

STATUS

Microsoft has confirmed this to be a problem in the Microsoft products listed at the beginning of this article.

Additional query words: assist dialog incorrect

Keywords: kbbug kbfix KB185896