Knowledge Base

WD98: Deleted Text from Tracked Changes Appears in HTML

Article ID: 181616

Article Last Modified on 10/27/2006


APPLIES TO


This article was previously published under Q181616

SYMPTOMS

If you enable the Track Changes While Editing command, and mark text for deletion, when you save the document as HTML and reopen the document, the deleted text will appear in the document and it will not be marked as deleted text (that is, it will look like normal text).

CAUSE

HTML does not support marking for tracked changes.

RESOLUTION

Accept all tracked changes before you save the document as HTML.

STATUS

Microsoft has confirmed this to be a problem in the Microsoft products listed at the beginning of this article. We are researching this problem and will post new information here in the Microsoft Knowledge Base as it becomes available.

Additional query words: security revisions redlining

Keywords: kbbug kbnofix kbproof kbweb KB181616