OL98: (CW) Reminder Displays from Different User Profile
Article ID: 181605
Article Last Modified on 8/10/1999
APPLIES TO
- Microsoft Outlook 98 Standard Edition
This article was previously published under Q181605
NOTE: These procedures only apply if you have installed Outlook with the
Corporate Workgroup/Other option. This option allows you to use Messaging
Application Programming Interface (MAPI) services. To determine your
installation type, on the Help Menu click About Microsoft Outlook. In About
Microsoft Outlook you should see "Corporate" if you have the Corporate
Workgroup installation.
SYMPTOMS
When you close Microsoft Outlook 98 while a Reminder box is displayed on
the screen, and then start another session of Outlook on the same
computer using a different user profile, the Reminder from the previous
session (belonging to the previous user) is displayed again.
CAUSE
Reminders are stored in shared memory, which is not purged until you quit
the last Microsoft Office application that is currently open. If any Office
application is still running (including Osa or FindFast), the Reminders are
retained and redisplayed when Outlook (or any other Office application)
starts again.
WORKAROUND
Make sure that you close all Office applications before starting
Outlook using a different user profile.
STATUS
This behavior is by design.
Keywords: kbprb KB181605