Knowledge Base

PPT98: Warning When Saving Over Older Version

Article ID: 181343

Article Last Modified on 6/12/2007


APPLIES TO


This article was previously published under Q181343

SYMPTOMS

When you open a presentation created in an earlier version of Microsoft PowerPoint, make some changes to the file, and then attempt to save it, you may receive the following error message:
The file <Filename>.ppt is currently a PowerPoint <Version Number> Presentation. If you made changes to your PowerPoint presentation using new PowerPoint 98 features, the changes might not be saved to an earlier format. Do you want to overwrite it with PowerPoint 98 format?
If you click Yes, PowerPoint 98 overwrites the original file with the newer formatting. If you click No, PowerPoint 98 saves in the file in the original format, removing those features unique to PowerPoint 98.

CAUSE

This behavior is by design.

STATUS

Microsoft welcomes suggestions or comments about changes in functionality and product design.

MORE INFORMATION


Additional query words: OFF98 why does it ask me about saving what's all this now then is read only mac_ppt ppt98 ppt_98 powerpoint 8.00 mac_powerpt powermac

Keywords: kbbug kberrmsg kbpending KB181343