Knowledge Base

OL98: AutoArchive Permanently Deletes Old Deleted Items

Article ID: 180990

Article Last Modified on 8/14/1999


APPLIES TO


This article was previously published under Q180990

SUMMARY

In Microsoft Outlook 98, the default AutoArchive setting for the Deleted Items folder is to permanently delete old items.

MORE INFORMATION

The AutoArchive feature is the automatic, periodic deletion or moving of items to another folder based on the length of time the items have been in the folder. AutoArchive can be set for most folders and the folders created by Outlook have certain default settings.

The default setting for the Deleted Items folder is to permanently delete old items instead of moving them to another folder. Some users prefer to archive deleted items the same way they archive other folders, and so need to change the default setting.

To Change the AutoArchive Setting of a Folder

To view or change the AutoArchive setting, follow these steps:
  1. Right-click the folder you want to view or change the AutoArchive setting for, and click Properties on the shortcut menu.
  2. The AutoArchive tab contains the setting for the folder. When finished viewing or changing the settings, click OK.

To Change the AutoArchive Setting for All Folders

To view or change the general AutoArchive settings, follow these steps:
  1. On the Tools menu, click Options.
  2. On the Other tab, click the AutoArchive tab.
  3. When finished viewing or changing the settings, click OK.

Keywords: kbinfo KB180990