How to Restore DNS Zones When Deleted from DNS Manager
Article ID: 180794
Article Last Modified on 10/31/2006
APPLIES TO
- Microsoft Windows NT Workstation 4.0 Developer Edition
- Microsoft Windows NT Server 4.0 Standard Edition
This article was previously published under Q180794
SUMMARY
When you delete zones from DNS Manager, the Domain Name Service (DNS) in
Windows NT Server does not actually delete the zone files.
When you create DNS zones using DNS Manager, the information is stored in
.dns files located in your %SystemRoot%\System32\DNS folder. When DNS
Manager deletes zones it does not remove these files; they still exist in
the DNS folder. To recover the original zone information, re-create your
zones using the exact names for the zones and the zone files. DNS Manager
will load the .dns files and all of the previous information will appear.
Keywords: kbinfo kbnetwork KB180794