Knowledge Base

OL98: Must Close All Outlook Windows to Log On as Different User

Article ID: 180676

Article Last Modified on 8/11/1999


APPLIES TO


This article was previously published under Q180676

SYMPTOMS

If you try to shut down Windows 95 by selecting "Close all programs and log on as a different user," Outlook displays the following message:

Please close all Outlook windows before shutting down the system. The easiest way to do this is to choose Exit and Log Off from the File menu.

CAUSE

This behavior is by design. Windows 95 cannot correctly close Outlook when you try to log off and log on as a different user.

RESOLUTION

To prevent this message, close all Outlook windows before attempting to close all programs and log on as a different user.

Keywords: kbprb KB180676