Knowledge Base

OL98: Cannot Set or Change the Default Save As Location

Article ID: 179943

Article Last Modified on 9/15/1999


APPLIES TO


This article was previously published under Q179943

SYMPTOMS

Microsoft Outlook does not provide a method for setting or changing the default Save As path.

MORE INFORMATION

The Save As command saves to your My Documents folder or the folder your Windows registry defines as the Personal User Shell folder. Outlook does not provide an option to change the default Save As folder.

If you use the Save As dialog box to navigate to another folder, Outlook uses the last-used folder for that session. If you quit and then restart Outlook, Outlook saves files to the My Documents folder.

Under some circumstances quitting Outlook does not end the current Outlook session.

REFERENCES

For additional information about why Outlook may continue to run after you quit and how to find out if Outlook is still running, please click the article number below to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:

180440 OL98: Why Outlook May Continue to Run After Exit


Additional query words: attachment 98

Keywords: kbprb KB179943