"Download Complete" Message After Downloading a File
Article ID: 179621
Article Last Modified on 7/26/2006
APPLIES TO
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 1.0
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 2.0
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 3.0
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 3.01
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 3.02
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 4.0 128-Bit Edition
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 4.01 128-Bit Edition
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 5.0
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 5.01
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 5.5
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 3.2
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 4.0 128-Bit Edition
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 2.0
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 3.0
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 3.01
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 3.02
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 4.0 128-Bit Edition
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 4.01 128-Bit Edition
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 5.0
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 5.01
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 5.5
This article was previously published under Q179621
SYMPTOMS
When you finish downloading a file in Internet Explorer, you receive the
following message:
RESOLUTION
Internet Explorer 4.01 Service Pack 1 and later includes an option to disable this message. To obtain Internet Explorer 4.01 Service Pack 1 or a
later version of Internet Explorer, please see the following Microsoft Web
site:
After you install Internet Explorer 4.01 Service Pack 1, click to clear
the Notify When Download Complete check box on the Advanced tab in the
Internet Options dialog box.
STATUS
This behavior is by design. This is a new feature in Internet Explorer 4.01
and later that cannot be disabled in Internet Explorer 4.0 or 4.01.
Additional query words: 4.00
Keywords: kbui kbprb KB179621