Article ID: 179599
Article Last Modified on 1/22/2007
APPLIES TO
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 2.0
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 3.0
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 3.01
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 3.02
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 4.0 128-Bit Edition
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 4.01 128-Bit Edition
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 5.0
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 5.01
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 5.5
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 1.0
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 2.0
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 3.0
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 3.01
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 3.02
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 4.0 128-Bit Edition
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 4.01 128-Bit Edition
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 5.0
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 5.01
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 5.5
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 3.2
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 4.0 128-Bit Edition
- Microsoft Windows 98 Standard Edition
This article was previously published under Q179599
SYMPTOMS
If you attempt to move, delete, or rename the Links folder on the
Favorites menu in Internet Explorer, it is automatically re-created the
next time you start your computer.
CAUSE
This behavior occurs because the Links folder is a special Internet
Explorer folder that cannot be moved, deleted, or renamed.
RESOLUTION
Although the Links folder cannot be deleted, the properties of the
Links folder can be set to Hidden so that the folder is no longer
displayed when you open the Favorites.
To set the properties of the Links folder to Hidden:
- Click Favorites on the toolbar.
- Right-click the Links folder, and then click Properties.
- Click to select the Hidden check box.
- Click OK.
You can press F5 to refresh the file listing and the Links folder will
no longer be displayed, although it will still be in the system and
function normally.
Additional query words: 4.00 4.01
Keywords: kbenv kbui kbprb KB179599