Knowledge Base

Changes Remain After You Click Cancel in Network Properties

Article ID: 179231

Article Last Modified on 1/22/2007


APPLIES TO


This article was previously published under Q179231
If this article does not describe your hardware-related issue, please see the following Microsoft Web site to view more articles about hardware:

SYMPTOMS

If you change your domain in the properties for the Client for Microsoft Networks network client or change your preferred server in the properties for the Client for NetWare Networks network client, click OK, and then click Cancel, your changes remain in effect.

This behavior can occur if you have either an Intel EtherExpress 16 or Intel EtherExpress Pro 10 network adapter and the following network protocols installed: Network Basic Input/Output System Enhanced User Interface (NetBEUI), Internetworking Packet Exchange/Session Packet Exchange (IPX/SPX), and Transmission Control Protocol/Internet Protocol (TCP/IP).

RESOLUTION

To work around this behavior, type your original domain or preferred server information in the properties for the network client, click OK, and then click OK.

STATUS

Microsoft is researching this problem and will post new information here in the Microsoft Knowledge Base as it becomes available.

Additional query words: HWNICTS keeps new stays nic

Keywords: kbenv kbnetwork kbprb KB179231