Knowledge Base

PUB98: Setup Doesn't Delete Files During Installation

Article ID: 178904

Article Last Modified on 11/10/1999


APPLIES TO


This article was previously published under Q178904

SUMMARY

When the Microsoft Publisher Setup program installs the Publisher program onto a system, files that existed on that system prior to the installation are NOT deleted.

Files have to meet certain criteria before being overwritten:
  1. They have to have exactly the same name.
  2. The file on the system has to be older.

Additional query words: pub98 mspub98 pub_98 publisher98 ms_pub98 mspub

Keywords: kbinfo kbsetup KB178904