XL97: Copying Shared Workbook Causes Multiple Users to Be Listed
Article ID: 176264
Article Last Modified on 10/19/2000
APPLIES TO
- Microsoft Excel 97 Standard Edition
This article was previously published under Q176264
SYMPTOMS
When you use a shared workbook in Microsoft Excel 97, and you click Share
Workbook on the Tools menu, it may appear that other users have opened the
workbook. This behavior occurs even when the users have not opened the
file. You may also see your user name listed twice in the list.
CAUSE
This problem occurs when you copy a shared workbook that is open in
Microsoft Excel. The copy of the original workbook also displays the
incorrect list of users.
RESOLUTION
Before you copy a shared workbook, verify that no one (including yourself)
has opened the shared workbook in Microsoft Excel. If you have already
copied the workbook and Microsoft Excel lists users who have not opened the
workbook, follow these steps to remove the users:
- On the Tools menu, click Share Workbook.
- Click the user name in the "Who has this workbook open now" list.
- Click Remove User.
You receive a warning message.
- Click OK.
If your user name is listed twice, try removing one of your user names.
If the message indicates that you cannot remove your selected user name,
try to remove your other user name.
STATUS
This behavior is by design of Microsoft Excel 97.
MORE INFORMATION
If you copy a shared workbook while it is open by any users, the same list
of current users appears for the copy of the shared workbook.
REFERENCES
For more information about shared workbooks, click the index tab in
Microsoft Excel Help, and type the following text:
and then double-click the selected text to go to the "shared workbooks"
topic.
Additional query words: XL97 ghost users
Keywords: kbprb KB176264