Microsoft Knowledge Base

"Connect To" Dialog Box Appears When You Connect to the Internet

Last reviewed: October 28, 1997
Article ID: Q175792
The information in this article applies to:
  • The Microsoft Network, version 2.0

SYMPTOMS

When you connect to MSN, The Microsoft Network, you may be prompted to type your user name and password in a Connect To dialog box.

CAUSE

This behavior can occur if Dial-Up Networking is configured to prompt you when you establish a connection.

RESOLUTION

To resolve this behavior, configure Dial-Up Networking to not prompt you when you establish a connection. To do so, use the following steps:

  1. Double-click My Computer on the desktop.

  2. Double-click Dial-Up Networking.

  3. On the Connections menu, click Settings.

  4. Click the "Don't prompt to use Dial-Up Networking" check box to select it, and then click OK.


Additional query words: 2.00
Keywords : msnconnect kbenv
Version : WINDOWS:2.0
Platform : WINDOWS


THE INFORMATION PROVIDED IN THE MICROSOFT KNOWLEDGE BASE IS PROVIDED "AS IS" WITHOUT WARRANTY OF ANY KIND. MICROSOFT DISCLAIMS ALL WARRANTIES, EITHER EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING THE WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY AND FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE. IN NO EVENT SHALL MICROSOFT CORPORATION OR ITS SUPPLIERS BE LIABLE FOR ANY DAMAGES WHATSOEVER INCLUDING DIRECT, INDIRECT, INCIDENTAL, CONSEQUENTIAL, LOSS OF BUSINESS PROFITS OR SPECIAL DAMAGES, EVEN IF MICROSOFT CORPORATION OR ITS SUPPLIERS HAVE BEEN ADVISED OF THE POSSIBILITY OF SUCH DAMAGES. SOME STATES DO NOT ALLOW THE EXCLUSION OR LIMITATION OF LIABILITY FOR CONSEQUENTIAL OR INCIDENTAL DAMAGES SO THE FOREGOING LIMITATION MAY NOT APPLY.

Last reviewed: October 28, 1997
©1997 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved. Legal Notices.