Knowledge Base

Server Copy of User Profile May Be Overwritten By Local Copy

PSS ID Number: 172647

Article Last Modified on 3/25/2002


The information in this article applies to:


This article was previously published under Q172647

SYMPTOMS

If you are using user profiles and roaming profiles, a user's local copy of the profile may overwrite the server copy. The local copy may be out of date or incorrect. The user is not prompted when this occurs.

CAUSE

This behavior can occur in the following situation:
  • A user logs on at a workstation that does not contain a local copy of his or her profile, or that contains an outdated local copy of the profile.
  • The server copy of the profile is not successfully downloaded when the user logs on (for example, because of network problems).
  • The user logs off and then logs back on at the same workstation, but this time the server copy of the profile can be accessed.
When this situation occurs, the outdated or incorrect local copy of the profile overwrites the server copy. The server copy can also be over- written when the user logs off if the server becomes available at that time.

Windows compares the date and time stamps of the local and server copies of the profile when a user logs on. The newer copy of the profile overwrites the older copy. In the situation described above, the local copy has changed more recently than the server copy. When the profiles are reconciled, the newer local copy, although incorrect, overwrites the older server copy.

RESOLUTION

STATUS

This problem no longer occurs in Windows 98. To resolve this problem, install the current version of Windows. For information about the current version of Windows, visit
http://www.microsoft.com/windows.

MORE INFORMATION

Keywords: kbnetwork KB172647
Technology: kbOPKSearch kbWin95OPKOSR1 kbWin95OPKOSR2 kbWin95OPKOSR210 kbWin95search kbZNotKeyword3