Knowledge Base

Print Jobs May Not be Deleted When Printed by Non- Administrator User

Article ID: 172288

Article Last Modified on 2/23/2007


APPLIES TO


This article was previously published under Q172288

SYMPTOMS

When you print to a Windows NT print server from a remote client, the print job may not be deleted and multiple jobs may stack up in the queue. Administrators and Print Operators may print normally.

CAUSE

This symptom may occur if the Creator Owner account permissions for the print queue is removed or changed to Print.

RESOLUTION

The Creator Owner account is assigned the Manage Documents permission by default and must be present for printing to work correctly.

To add the Creator Owner account with the Manage Documents access, perform the following steps:
  1. Click the Start button, point to Settings, and click on Printers.
  2. In the Printers folder, right-click on the printer in question, and then click Properties.
  3. Click the Security tab, click Permissions, click Creator Owner account with the Manage Documents access from the Name list, and then click Add.
  4. Click OK, and then restart your computer.
NOTE: If the Administrators account is removed from security as well, the symptom above may also occur.

Additional query words: rights print manager prodnt deleted delete remove full control printq domain users

Keywords: kbprint KB172288