How to Bypass the Recycle Bin When Deleting Files
Article ID: 171051
Article Last Modified on 10/31/2006
APPLIES TO
- Microsoft Windows NT Workstation 4.0 Developer Edition
- Microsoft Windows NT Server 4.0 Standard Edition
- Microsoft Windows 95
This article was previously published under Q171051
SUMMARY
When you delete files in the Windows NT 4.0 or Windows 95 operating systems
graphical user interface, your files first go to the Recycle Bin so that
they may be recovered. When deleting a large amount of files, this process
may not be desirable because of the amount of time it takes to move them to
the Recycle Bin and then empty the Recycle Bin, essentially deleting them
twice. There is an easy way to bypass the Recycle Bin altogether.
NOTE: If you delete a file or folder from a resource that is not local
(such as a network computer), the file or folder does not go to the
Recycle Bin, the item is instantly deleted.
Additional query words: win95 deleting permanent
Keywords: kbhowto kbui kbusage KB171051