Knowledge Base

Host Drive Shares Still Available After Host Drive Is Hidden

Article ID: 169493

Article Last Modified on 11/15/2006


APPLIES TO


This article was previously published under Q169493

SYMPTOMS

If you share the host drive, or folders on the host drive, for a drive compressed with DriveSpace and then hide the host drive, the shares on the host drive are still viewable on the network.

CAUSE

The host drive is only hidden locally.

RESOLUTION

Disable sharing on the hidden host drive by following these steps:
  1. Click the Start button, point to Programs, point to Accessories, point to System Tools, and then click DriveSpace.
  2. Click the letter of the hidden drive, and then click Properties on the Drive menu.
  3. Click the Hide This Host Drive check box to clear it.
  4. Click OK.
  5. Close DriveSpace.
  6. In My Computer or Windows Explorer, double-click the host drive to open it.
  7. Locate the shares for host drive.
  8. Use the right mouse button to click the shared drive or folder, and then click Sharing on the menu that appears.
  9. Click Not Shared, and then click OK.
Or, you can hide the share(s) on the network. To do this, follow these steps:
  1. Follow steps 1-8 above.
  2. Add a dollar sign character ($) to the end of the share name, and then click OK.
If you want to rehide the host drive, follow these steps:
  1. Click the Start button, point to Programs, point to Accessories, point to System Tools, and then click DriveSpace.
  2. Click the letter of the host drive, and then click Properties on the Drive menu.
  3. Click the Hide This Host Drive check box to select it.
  4. Click OK.
  5. Close DriveSpace.

Keywords: kbenv KB169493