Knowledge Base

Changes to User Profiles Are Not Saved

Article ID: 169144

Article Last Modified on 2/23/2007


APPLIES TO


This article was previously published under Q169144

SYMPTOMS

When a user makes changes to his or her user profile, and then logs off and logs on again, all changes to the user profile have been lost. No error messages are generated. If the user is made an Administrator of the local workstation, all changes to the user profile are retained properly.

CAUSE

The user is not a member of the local workstation Users group. If a user is not an explicit member of the local workstation Users group or another group other than the Guest group, the user is considered a Guest. All Guest profiles are deleted when the user logs off and changes are not saved.

RESOLUTION

Add the user to the local workstation Users group.

Additional query words: roam roaming settings can't preserve lost

Keywords: kbdomain kbprb KB169144