Knowledge Base

SMS: Despooler Does Not Preserve Existing Rights on Shares

Article ID: 167656

Article Last Modified on 6/14/2005


APPLIES TO


This article was previously published under Q167656

SYMPTOMS

The Systems Management Server Despooler service does not preserve share, directory, or file permissions for a software distribution package. If the administrator sets special permissions for a package on the destination distribution server, and then distributes the package again, the Despooler overwrites those permissions.

CAUSE

The Systems Management Server Despooler is designed to support only Read or Read/Write permissions. Every time it redistributes an application, it resets the permissions to whatever the permissions are set for that package in the Systems Management Server Administrator program.

STATUS

Microsoft has confirmed this to be a problem in Systems Management Server versions 1.0, 1.1, and 1.2. This problem was corrected in the latest Microsoft Systems Management Server 1.2 U.S. Service Pack. For information on obtaining the service pack, query on the following word in the Microsoft Knowledge Base (without the spaces):

S E R V P A C K

MORE INFORMATION

The hotfix will not change any permissions if the share or directory already exists. This allows administrators to set file and/or directory permissions after the initial distribution of the package. Any additional redistribution of that same package will not overwrite the permissions for that package.

The Forced Disconnect feature available in Systems Management Server version 1.2 should not be used because the share permissions will be restored to the default permissions after the Forced Disconnect process has completed.

Additional query words: prodsms NetWare Novell rights change

Keywords: kbbug kbdespooler kbfix kbnetwork KB167656