Knowledge Base

Nickname Changes When You Open a Saved Chat Conversation

Article ID: 167651

Article Last Modified on 1/19/2007


APPLIES TO


This article was previously published under Q167651

SYMPTOMS

When you open a Microsoft Chat conversation (.ccc) file that was saved by another person, your chat nickname is changed to that person's nickname in Microsoft Chat.

RESOLUTION

To change your chat nickname back, click Options on the View menu, click the Personal Info tab, and then type your chat nickname in the Nickname box.

STATUS

Microsoft is aware of this situation and will post more information here in the Microsoft Knowledge Base when it becomes available.

MORE INFORMATION

When you open a chat conversation that was saved by another person, only your chat nickname changes for future chat sessions. Other profile information (such as your name, e-mail address, World Wide Web home page, and description) does not change. However, because some chat rooms grant privileges based on chat nicknames, you may be unable to access some chat rooms until you change your nickname back to what it was.

Additional query words: chattop 2.00 2.10 2.50

Keywords: kbenv KB167651