Knowledge Base

Internet Explorer Setup Continues After Clicking Cancel

Article ID: 166713

Article Last Modified on 11/1/2006


APPLIES TO


This article was previously published under Q166713

SYMPTOMS

When you are installing Internet Explorer version 4.0, if you click Cancel during Active Setup, the Setup process seems to continue. When Setup finishes, you receive a message indicating that the setup is not complete. However, Setup then seems to continue and Internet Explorer version 4.0 is installed.

CAUSE

Setup finishes installing the current component and then cancels the installation of additional components.

Setup is designed to prevent you from installing a portion of the files for an individual component. Partial installation of a component could result in errors.

RESOLUTION

To Remove Internet Explorer Version 4.0

  1. Click Start, point to Settings, and then click Control Panel.
  2. Double-click Add/Remove Programs.
  3. Click Microsoft Internet Explorer 4.0, and then click Add/Remove.
  4. Click Remove All.
The Internet Explorer version 4.0 components are removed and replaced with the components that were previously installed on your computer.

  1. Click Start, point to Programs, and then click Windows Explorer or Windows NT Explorer.
  2. In the Internet Explorer version 4.0 Setup folder, double-click the Ie4setupw.exe file. The default location for this file is the C:\Internet Explorer 4.0 Setup folder.
  3. If the Upgrade New Items dialog box is displayed, verify that the Upgrade Only Newer Items check box is selected and click OK. This dialog box may not be displayed and is not an indication of a problem.
  4. When you are prompted, click OK to continue.

Additional query words: 4.00 ie4 ie40

Keywords: kbsetup KB166713