NT Explorer clears archive attribute after permissions change
Article ID: 166526
Article Last Modified on 11/1/2006
APPLIES TO
- Microsoft Windows NT Workstation 4.0 Developer Edition
- Microsoft Windows NT Server 4.0 Standard Edition
This article was previously published under Q166526
SYMPTOMS
While you change permissions on files or directories located on an NTFS
partition, the file system sets the archive bit active and updates the time
stamp for the file.
Explorer will erroneously clear the archive bit while exiting the
properties box by selecting OK all the way out after changing permissions.
If the archive bit is cleared, the file or directory will not be backed-up
during incremental backups.
CAUSE
This is caused by the order that the property pages are applied. When you
change something through the permissions dialog box, it changes the file
immediately, turning on the archive bit at that moment to the file or
directory. When you press OK on that dialog box, the first page (General)
sees that it wants the file to be non-archived, so it turns off the archive
bit. Then the permissions page saves, which does nothing because it has
already done its work.
RESOLUTION
After you change permissions on a file or directory, do NOT click OK, but
instead go back to the General tab prior to leaving the properties dialog
box. When you use this procedure, the file or directory will retain an
accurate setting.
STATUS
Microsoft has confirmed that this is a problem in the Microsoft products that are listed in the "Applies to" section.
Additional query words: archive bit reset
Keywords: kbbug kbui KB166526