Knowledge Base

PRB: View Wizard Loses Relations When Removing Field

Article ID: 165634

Article Last Modified on 5/12/2003


APPLIES TO


This article was previously published under Q165634

SYMPTOMS

When creating a Local View with the View Wizard, there is an issue with relationships when two tables are used and a relation is created. If the user returns to Step 1 in the Wizard and removes a field or fields from the selected fields, the relationship is removed.

RESOLUTION

The user must simply re-add the relationship once returning to Step 2.

STATUS

This behavior is by design.

MORE INFORMATION

Steps to Reproduce Behavior

  1. In the Command window issue the following command:
          MODIFY DATA HOME()+"samples\data\testdata"
  2. From the File menu, click New. Click View and select Wizard from the New File dialog box.
  3. In Step 1 of Local View Wizard, add all fields from Customer and Orders. Click NEXT to move to Step 2.
  4. Since Orders.Cust_ID and Customer.Cust_ID should be in the pop-up menus, click the Add button to set the relationship between the two tables.
  5. Click Back to go back to Step 1.
  6. In Step 1, remove a field or fields from the Selected Fields.
  7. Click Next to return to Step 2. (NOTE: the relationship is gone and must be added again.)

Keywords: kbprb KB165634