Knowledge Base

XCLN: Schedule+ Invitees Are Not Informed When Removed from Appointment

Article ID: 164846

Article Last Modified on 10/28/2006


APPLIES TO


This article was previously published under Q164846

SYMPTOMS

Invited attendees, including resource accounts, are not sent a cancellation notice when they are removed from the list of invited attendees for an appointment.

For example, John invites Robin to a meeting in Conference Room 1.

John creates a new appointment and places Robin in the Required List and places Conference Room 1 in the Resource List. Robin receives the meeting request and accepts. The conference room is set up to automatically accept all meeting requests and does so.

Later, John decides he would like to move the meeting to Conference Room 2 because he also wishes to invite his whole team.

John edits the appointment and adds the group, JohnsTeam, to the Required List. He removes Conference Room 1 and adds Conference Room 2 to the Resource List. The team members are sent a meeting invitation and so is the resource Conference Room 2, which is also set up to automatically accept all meeting requests.

The James decides that he would like to meet Marian on this same day but is unable to find a meeting place. The only two conference rooms seem to be booked; Conference Room 1 never received a cancellation message from John's Schedule+ client.

CAUSE

Cancellation messages are not sent to individual users or resource accounts when they are removed from the list of invitees of an appointment.

WORKAROUND

To work around this problem, you must cancel the entire appointment and then create a new appointment with the new list of invitees and resources. Canceling the appointment causes a cancellation message to be sent to all invitees.

Keywords: kbother kbprb kbusage KB164846