WD97: Deleted Text from Tracked Changes Appears in HTML
Article ID: 163659
Article Last Modified on 1/19/2007
APPLIES TO
- Microsoft Word 97 Standard Edition
This article was previously published under Q163659
SYMPTOMS
If you turn on the "Track Changes while editing" command and mark text for
deletion, when you save the document as HTML and reopen the document, the
deleted text appears in the document and it is not marked as deleted text
(that is, it looks like normal text).
CAUSE
HTML does not support marking for tracked changes.
RESOLUTION
Accept all tracked changes before you save the document as HTML.
STATUS
Microsoft has confirmed that this is a problem in the Microsoft products that are listed at the beginning of this article.
This problem does not occur in Microsoft Word 2000.
MORE INFORMATION
This behavior is different from Word 7.0 and Internet Assistant. These
products removed text that was marked for deletion when the document was
converted.
Additional query words: security revisions redlining
Keywords: kbualink97 KB163659