Auto Arrange Activates Itself in Copied User Profiles
Article ID: 162790
Article Last Modified on 11/1/2006
APPLIES TO
- Microsoft Windows NT Workstation 4.0 Developer Edition
- Microsoft Windows NT Server 4.0 Standard Edition
This article was previously published under Q162790
SYMPTOMS
When copying a profile from a reference account to Default User, the Auto
Arrange attribute activates for all users using that copied profile.
For example:
Create a reference account that contains all the desktop properties wanted
for new users. Ensure that Auto Arrange is not selected and some icons are
placed in the center of the screen. Log off and then log on as
administrator. In Control Panel, double-click the System icon. Click the
User Profiles tab and select the profile for the reference account. Click
Copy To and select %SystemRoot%\Profiles\Default User.
Create a new user account and log on as that user. You will find that the
new user has all the desktop properties needed; however, any icons that had
been placed in certain locations in the original profile are now all
arranged on the left side of the screen. The Auto Arrange property has
automatically been applied whether it was manually selected or not.
STATUS
Microsoft has confirmed this to be a problem in Windows NT version 4.0. We
are researching this problem and will post new information here in the
Microsoft Knowledge Base as it becomes available.
Additional query words: placement location justified aligned
Keywords: kbbug kbnetwork KB162790