FP: Part of the Data Transferred with "Publish Web" Command
Article ID: 159920
Article Last Modified on 11/24/2003
APPLIES TO
- Microsoft FrontPage 97 Standard Edition
- Microsoft FrontPage 1.0 Standard Edition
- Microsoft FrontPage 1.1 Standard Edition
- Microsoft FrontPage 1.0 for Macintosh
This article was previously published under Q159920
For a Microsoft FrontPage 98 version of this article, see
194307.
SYMPTOMS
Canceling the Publish FrontPage Web command in FrontPage 97 and
FrontPage 1.0 for the Macintosh, (or the Copy Web command in FrontPage for
Windows, versions 1.0 and 1.1) may result in a partial transfer of the
FrontPage web to the destination server.
CAUSE
The HyperText Transport Protocol (HTTP) maintains no information about
the state of the connection between the server and the client. The Publish
FrontPage Web operation creates the directories on the destination Web
and then copies files into them. There is no way for FrontPage to
efficiently delete files that were transferred during the earlier moments
of the Publish Web operation.
RESOLUTION
To copy any files that were missed during the initial transfer, republish
your Web to the same destination Web and allow it to copy all files to the
destination Web. Note that if you want to delete files on the destination
server, switch to Folder view (in FrontPage 97) or Summary view (in FrontPage
1.x) and delete the files you want to remove from your Web. If you are not sure
which files were transferred, publish your Web. When it has completed copying
the files to the destination server, open the Web as a separate entity and
delete it.
MORE INFORMATION
FrontPage does not partially update files. All files are either completely
updated or not updated at all.
Additional query words: 97 copy web
Keywords: kbprb kbusage KB159920