Knowledge Base

TMGR: Project Status Report Does Not Include Deleted Tasks

Article ID: 159383

Article Last Modified on 8/17/2005


APPLIES TO


This article was previously published under Q159383

SUMMARY

If you delete a task created from a TeamAssign message from a Project file, the Microsoft Project Status report will not indicate the task was deleted. The Status report may even include updates to the task that were made prior to deleting the task, which may seem unusual because the task was deleted.

MORE INFORMATION

The Microsoft Project Status report is equivalent to responding to a TeamUpdate message. It does not allow the person responding to the message to delete a task. The TeamUpdate message only allows the person to update actual and remaining work. Therefore, Team Manager does not send any information indicating a task has been deleted in a Microsoft Project Status Report message because Microsoft Project is not expecting information about tasks that have been deleted.

A Microsoft Project file task should only be deleted from the project file itself. The project manager can then send a TeamStatus message which will delete the task from the Microsoft Team Manager team file. If you have inadvertently deleted a Microsoft Project task, the project manager must send the TeamAssign for the task again.

Additional query words: 1.00

Keywords: KB159383