Article ID: 159270
Article Last Modified on 5/4/2001
Branch1 Branch2 ------- ------- A A B B C D D E EVisual SourceSafe determines whether "C" was added to Branch1 or deleted from Branch2 by looking at the first file and determining whether a deletion or addition occurred.
A B C D EIf you merge Branch1 into Branch2, the result is as follows:
Branch1 Branch2 ------- ------- A A B B C D D E EDuring the merge, Visual SourceSafe moves any changes in Branch1 into Branch2. No changes were made in Branch1. Therefore, both files remain unchanged.
Branch1 Branch2 ------- ------- A A B B D D E EDuring the merge, Visual SourceSafe moves any changes in Branch2 into Branch1. "C" was deleted from Branch2. Therefore, the change is reflected in Branch1.
Keywords: kbinfo KB159270