SMS: Deleted User Groups Are Not Removed from the SMS Database
Article ID: 159202
Article Last Modified on 10/27/2006
APPLIES TO
- Microsoft Systems Management Server 1.0 Standard Edition
- Microsoft Systems Management Server 1.1 Standard Edition
- Microsoft Systems Management Server 1.2 Standard Edition
This article was previously published under Q159202
SYMPTOMS
If a global group is deleted from a domain, or a user group is deleted from
a NetWare server, it will not be removed from the SMS database after Site
Config Manager enumerates the user groups again. Therefore, deleted user
groups will still appear in the list of groups available to be assigned to
SMS program groups.
CAUSE
Site Config Manager does not keep a history of the groups it found
previously, so it cannot set a pragma:delete for groups that no longer
exist when creating the new user group MIF.
WORKAROUND
STATUS
Microsoft has confirmed this to be a problem in Systems Management Server
versions 1.0, 1.1, and 1.2. We are researching this problem and will post
new information here in the Microsoft Knowledge Base as it becomes
available.
Additional query words: prodsms global local trusted
Keywords: kb3rdparty kbnetwork kbpgc kbscman KB159202